Meebo – web based IM…

I can officially hang up any ideas I might have had of creating the killer web based IM client – it exists here. I was a little doubtful at first and hesitant to put my username/password into a non-HTTPS browser window (let alone on a server I have no knowledge or control of) but I did it anyway. The gasp that was heard upon clicking “Sign On” was one of amazement – the interface is clean, simple, and works quite effortlessly. It’s basically Trillian but in a browser – which is great since my copy of Trillian takes 15 minutes to load and seems to bog my entire PC down (P4 3GHz with 1GB RAM) but that’s a rant for another day…

Apparently, this is the love child of two devoted and quite capable devs produced by a company that is a mere three months old. Although it’s still in alpha and needed a few features – it’s completely usable in my opinion. I will certainly have to keep an eye on these folks…
Oh and they have a blog too.

Comments are closed.

