Programmer Eye Strain…

I’ve always had perfect vision (actually better than perfect since it is 20/15) but lately I’ve been struggling with eye strain quite a bit. After sitting for my typical long programming sessions, I’ve had headaches, blurry vision, and even felt a little sick to my stomache. Here at work I found that if I leave my office light off and turned the brightness on my monitors down to 60%, it really helps a lot. Then Robin sent me a tip to turn on ClearType (tuner doesn’t like FireFox so you can get the powertoy from here) – I’ve just installed and adjusted it but it looks like my colors may need a little tweaking to be perfect. We’ll see if this helps out.

UPDATE: While the text seems to be pretty nice, it’s not playing real well with my custom desktop background so beware of light colored backgrounds when using this. Also be sure that you use the Tuning Wizard.

Comments are closed.

