Ruby Explained (on acid)…

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve decided to teach myself Ruby. It’s really not a complex language but I hadn’t had my “ah-ha” moment with it yet in spite of having read of the tutorials and going over “The Pickaxe“. I just was really just “Google-gramming” (AKA “copy/paste/debug” programming) to get what I wanted. Well, all that has changed.

I don’t remember how I found “Why’s (Poignant) Guide to Ruby” but I’m sure grateful that I did. This explanation of Ruby breaks it down perfectly and leads you thru the wonderland while pointing out and explaining the sights and details. That being said, PLEASE DO NOT READ THIS WHILE ALTERED!! This includes (but is not limited to) drunk, stoned, baked, bagged, hammered, or hopped up. The author, whytheluckstiff, apparently was plenty altered for all of us when this was written. Seriously though, you will have to get past the cartoons and semi-random side trips to find the meat of this guide but I assure you that it’s worth it. And the explanations are just fine even if you’re a beginning programmer. Ruby has really caught my attention as having taken many of the good qualities of various languages and melded them into a powerful and coherent dialect. I probably would even recommend it as a first language for someone who’s looking to learn how to program.

6 Responses to Ruby Explained (on acid)…

  1. Dirty Butter says:

    Oh, you’re making me feel very old and addled. I’ve never even HEARD of Ruby! My first programming language was BASIC, and I used to do pretty well with DOS.

  2. David O'Hara says:

    It’s not surprising that you haven’t heard of Ruby. It’s a fairly new language from Japan but certainly worth a look. BTW, I too am a product of Basic – sometimes I still miss my old Atari 800XL. 🙂

  3. Ruby in the sky’y with diamonds. I will never be able to view the ruby language because I am never not, stoned or drunk on something. I have unfortunately also never even learned to read any language yet, not even English. I have only learned how to write.

  4. faeriebell says:

    Ruby’s been around for a while. Are you learning ROR or Ruby? ROR is awesome, and easier to learn than Ruby!

  5. David O'Hara says:

    David: I like the way you think…oh wait, you’ll never know that now will you?? 😉 Damn illiteracy!!

    faeriebell: I was speaking in relative terms – considering that the language was begun in 1993 and first released to the public in 1995, it is fairly new in comparison with comparable languages. I actually was introduced to Ruby via ROR by Randy Peterman and was stunned by its power and simplicity. Since then, I’ve been focused mainly on winapp usages rather than the webapp aspects though.

  6. Dirty Butter says:

    “It’s not surprising that you haven’t heard of Ruby. It’s a fairly new language from Japan but certainly worth a look. BTW, I too am a product of Basic – sometimes I still miss my old Atari 800XL.”

    I learned BASIC on an Apple II+ and a Timex Sinclair (whole 2K of memory!). I really UNDERSTOOD programming back then. It was so LOGICAL. Now I struggle to keep up with HTML and am learning CSS. Cruel world:/

