Krugle…

If you're a developer and you've ever used Google to find some code (uh…who hasn't), GO SIGN UP FOR KRUGLE RIGHT NOW!! I signed up about 2 months ago and just finally got in on the beta. It's amazing. You can watch the demo (800×600) to get an idea of what you're waiting for.

The interface is great; it's an Ajax app and beta so there are still some issues (*ahem* BACK BUTTON) but impressive and intuitive nonetheless. It supports a variety of languages from Objective-C and LISP to TCL and sh. There's something in there for everyone.

If you sign up, please leave a note and let me know what you think.

*** UPDATE:  It appears that the beta is closed at this point. Be sure to sign up so that you'll know when it officially rolls out. ***

6 Responses to Krugle…

  1. John says:

    FYI, there’s an excellent fully functioning open source code search engine at http://www.koders.com

  2. David O'Hara says:

    I’m familiar with Koders and actually used to use them but Krugle is leaps and bounds ahead of what Koders does. On top of an AMAZING interface, they allow you to tag certain code/files/projects for reference. You can even see other people’s tags (if they’re public) so it almost becomes a collaboration of sorts.

  3. Antonio Vivaldi says:

    Krugle was supposed to go to Beta a long time ago. What’s the hold up? Why psych the world up, just to let them down? Could their PR firm have been *that* much out of touch with reality? Who’s steering the ship?

  4. Dave, thanks for the kind words. What do you think of the new UI in beta5? 🙂

    Yeah, the back button is one of those perennially annoying problems. Rest assured that it’s very high on the to-do list.

    Antonio, it’s actually been in beta for a good while. In distinct contrast to all of the “endless betas” that seem to be all the rage these days, we’re a bit old-school in having a closed beta with over 30,000 people being invited. Steve has posted a bit about the beta process on his blog.

    In terms of “PR”, we don’t have any PR people. Everything is word of mouth, our blogs, networking, and the great buzz we’ve received from all of the journalists and bloggers.

  5. David O'Hara says:

    Antonio: I’m unaware of the history that you mentioned. I just came across Krugle a couple of months ago and have seen nothing of the sort. Did I just miss something??

    John: I like the new interface. A few too many times I fell victim to the fact that “Content” was the default instead of “Code”. I don’t like that I can’t search for “C# Singleton” and have it assume my language for me like it used to but I suppose that may have led to issues for others. Honestly, my biggest complaint is that it’s still a private beta (behind authentication) so I can’t complete my FireFox search plugin. 🙂 Keep up the great work guys!!

  6. Dave, thanks for the feedback. If you haven’t already, you might want to use the Feedback facility in the app — the product management folks read that closely. 🙂

    What do you think of the changes in the latest beta?